Saturday, April 17, 2010

Scholarship Spotlight: Asia-Pacific Service to Social Sciences Award

Description: 2 awards of $1000(AUD) each, awarded to a Golden Key International Honour Society member at an Australian, New Zealand or Malaysian chapter.

Amount of scholarship: $1,000

Deadline: June 27, 2010

1. Application Form – download:
2. Attach the following required documentation:

  • A submission of no more than two pages describing how you have contributed academically to your field of study. This could include published articles, outstanding research, academic prizes etc.
  • A letter of recommendation from your lecturer would be required, as well as any group or organization you are involved with in this area of study.
    An academic transcript (copies accepted).

Contact Information:
PO Box 302


Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Scholarship Spotlight: National Potato Council Scholarship

Description: Each year, the National Potato Council awards a scholarship to honor graduate students pursuing advanced studies in Agribusiness that supports of the Potato Industry. This year’s scholarship will be awarded in August 2010 to be applied toward the 2010-2011 academic year.

Amount of scholarship: $5,000

Deadline: June 15, 2010

Requirements / eligibility:

  1. Explain in 200 words or less how your goals and ambitions qualify you for this scholarship.
  2. Specify your graduate program and demonstrate how it will benefit the U.S. potato industry.
  3. Include transcripts of your undergraduate and graduate work, if any, with cumulative grade point average.
  4. Include a resume if available.
  5. If applicable, attach a list of activities which demonstrate citizenship, service to society and leadership qualities.
  6. Please note level of participation and/or offices held.
  7. Attach a list of the names and contact information for two adults that may be contacted as references should you become a finalist.

Contact Information:
National Potato Council
1300 L Street, NW, Suite 910
Washington, DC 20005
United States


Saturday, April 10, 2010

Program Spotlight: The ExxonMobil Middle East and North Africa Scholars Program

The program is funded by ExxonMobil and administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE). Through this unique scholarship opportunity, ExxonMobil aims to contribute to the Middle East and North Africa region by helping to develop highly skilled and culturally adept individuals. The program also seeks to build relationships with academic leaders by offering a Faculty Sponsor Program to the home academic departments of successful scholars. Some students may qualify for the opportunity to apply their skills through internships with ExxonMobil.

Amount of scholarship:
Recipients will receive full tuition, housing and living expenses, medical insurance, textbook and computer allowance. The award also includes transportation to the U.S. at the inception and conclusion of the program, visa and academic support, and an intensive orientation program.

Deadline: October 1, 2010

Requirements / Criteria:
Citizens of Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia or the UAE who have a Bachelor's degree in Geoscience, Engineering, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science, Math or Geography. Candidates must have lived in the Middle East/North Africa for 15 years & be fluent in Arabic.

Applicants must fill out an online application. The application includes: essays, 9 application pages with itemized sections, 1 signature page, letter of reference forms and the submission of university transcripts and TOEFL & GRE score reports.

Additional Information:

For full details: Institute of International Education:
E-mail with any questions or problems.

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Scholarship Spotlight: The Graça Machel Scholarship Programme (Women only)

Scholarship Sponsor: Canon Collins Trust

Amount of scholarship: All scholarships are for postgraduate study, either for one academic year if based in the UK or for two years if based in South Africa. The scholarship includes payment of maintenance, travel, health insurance and tuition fees.

August 11th 2010 for study in South Africa (courses starting in February)
December 10th 2010 for study in the UK (courses starting in September/October)

Requirements / eligibility: Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to women on the basis of academic/professional merit, financial need, intended academic programme, leadership potential and commitment to work for constructive change in Africa.

Subject Areas:
Science & Technology
Economics & Finance

Additional Information:
The key aim of the Graça Machel Scholarship Programme is to help provide the human resources necessary for economic, social and cultural development in the southern African region and to develop an educated and skilled workforce that can benefit the wider community. Scholarships that target women have long been recognized as an effective approach in addressing gender equality and eradicating poverty. By providing opportunities to study at postgraduate level, these scholarships aim to empower women and to equip them to take up leadership positions in order to have a direct impact in the communities, nations and region in which they live.

The Graça Machel Scholarships Programme will provide a minimum of 60 postgraduate scholarships to female students from Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland and South Africa in both South Africa and the UK. The majority of the scholarships will be for study in South Africa.

For more information, including application:

Canon Collins Trust
22 The Ivories, Northampton Street, London N1 2HY, UK.